Practice Makes Perfect

I am sure, that like most others, I found this to be  an incredibly challenging task. So challenging that I had hit a brick wall when trying to think of the most important songs in my life, how can you only pick three? Instead, I will have to tweak this challenge slightly and discuss why I enjoy certain songs more than others.

I guess you could say that I am a bit of a dreamer. A day dreamer. More often than not, when I listen to music, it is background noise, however; when I am in a certain mood, certain songs create images and scenes in my mind. I cannot help but create characters and places where I feel the music would completely fit the mood and theme. In fact, when I am writing, a lot of my work is inspired by music I was listening to and was happy with where my imagination took me at the time. I even create play lists for each of my characters to help me develop their personalities and feelings during certain moments.

Does anyone else do this?

As an example, when I listen to The Neighborhood’s – Sweater Weather, this is what comes to mind:

A large city bathed in the light of the autumn sun, with grey clouds forming above skyscrapers, creating sun showers. Yellow cabs slowly moving through the traffic, and people scattering to find shelter among the concrete jungle. Though, somewhere in this big city, two young lovers are sitting in a small studio apartment enjoying the warmth its radiator and the loud bass of the song reverberating through the apartment.

“These hearts adore
Everyone the other beats hardest for
Inside this place is warm
Outside it starts to pour

‘Cause it’s too cold
For you here and now
So let me hold
Both your hands in the holes of my sweater”

For some strange reason, I always imagine a knitted maroon sweater. Every time!

What comes to your mind when a certain song grabs your attention?

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2